JMO awarded Australian Jazz Ensemble of the Year 2015

The JMO was awarded the Australian Jazz award for ensemble of the year at a ceremony in Melbourne. The $5000 prize was donated by Monash University and decided by a panel of leading industry judges after nominations by the Australian Jazz Academy. The award was for our activities in 2015 which included a sold out concert at the Sydney Festival with Jef Neve and Maria Schneider, gigs with Miguel Zenon Quartet at the Melbourne International Jazz Festival and The Basement, a concert featuring the music of Dave Panichi, the release of a CD recording with Scott Tinkler and 6 concert tour with James Muller. A complete list of winners below.  

Young Australian Jazz Artist Of The Year: Olivia Chindamo
Best Australian Jazz Ensemble: Jazzgroove Mothership Orchestra
Best Australian Jazz Song of the Year: Barney McAll's ‘Nectar Spur’
Best Produced Album: Beginning And End of Knowing by Mike Nock &Laurence Pike
Best Australian Jazz Vocal Album: 'Where Or When' by Kristin Berardi
Best Australian Instrumental Jazz Album: 'Mooroolbark' by Barney McAll
Best Australian Small Jazz Band: the Allan Browne Quintet
The Grame Bell Jazz Hall of Fame: Joe Chindamo